Doctor in Alexandria, VA — Money Diary

0
Occupation: Doctor (OBGYN)
Industry: Health care
Age: 35
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Salary: $308,000
Net value : ~$171,000 (I started saving and investing seriously three years ago when I finished my residency. Before that, I was earning just enough to contribute to my 401(k) and have a little savings. Accounts retirement: $114,090, investment accounts: $87,850, checking $15,863, savings: $60,427 Normally I don’t have that much in a savings account, but I plan to pay medical bills with part less the debt.)
Debt: $107,064 (I have $104,159 in student loans, but started out with about $290,000 at the end of residency. My car loan is $2,905.)
Paycheck amount (2x/month): $6,615 (after deductions for 401(k) with 3% match and FSA)
Pronouns: She she

Monthly expenses
To rent: $2,661 (I live alone in a two-bed, two-bath apartment, planning to buy a place in the next six to nine months)
Utilities: $150 to $200
Car park: $75
Student loans: $4,000 (refinanced two years ago, $3,125 due monthly)
Car loan: $1,500 (payout is supposed to be $1,060)
Amazon Prime: $119 annually
Hulu: $6.99
Netflix: $13.99
Spotify: $9.99
Car insurance: $9.58
Call: $130 (My mom is on my plan)
The Internet: $55
Disability insurance: $573 (To replace part of my income if I am unable to practice my own specialty due to a disability)
Life insurance: $44.40
Investments: $1,000
Savings: $1,400
Health, dental and vision insurance: covered by my employer

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.